Skip to content

Deleted Scene #1

September 4, 2009

My “Deleted Scene” series will feature random writings by me that will be sometimes short, sometimes long, and totally unpredictable. Even I don’t know where they will go; I just sit down and write whatever I wish.

So here we are, standing on the edge of Hell, and here we are, standing on the edge of Heaven.

We stand here today, faced with an impossible decision: to go and claim our divinity, or to reject it with scorn, for we are independent, free of the shackles of our past, of our Creator, our God. Are the patriarchs very important? Are the sins of our fathers supposed to be kept on our backs, weighing us down?

But, no, I say, we can claim our divinity without casting aside God. No, friends, there is an alternative: we are all divine; we are all God. We all have the ability to create the world and the Universe, as did God. We all have the ability to love unconditionally, just like God. We all have the creative vision that God has. We all have the ability to be God, to be the masters of our domains, to be the best, most virtuous people we can be. And here’s the epiphany, friends: we create God as an expression of our human potential. God is the pinnacle of human potential – nothing more, nothing less. He is everyone of us.

There is some dissent from the crowd. Many proclaim that they will never be able to match God’s majesty or perfection. Many say that it’s blasphemy to talk like that about God. I settle them down with a wave of a hand.

Imagine this, I say. We do all have the capacity to be God, we just have to make sure we are like him. We have to be, not do – isn’t God the ultimate example of Being? He simply is, is he not? We can also enforce our own values, just like God. Where did God get his values, his morals? Surely not from someone else; he is the Prime Mover, after all. But we, too, can do that, for God, like us, is fallible. Yes, we are shown that, in God’s realm, he is perfect, but is he a reliable source? If he was honest, yes, he is reliable, but he can make mistakes too. What about the Holocaust? The two World Wars? The Crusades? The sacking of the Roman Empire? The list goes on and on.

But that challenges God’s divinity, they say. And, I say, that’s exactly the point. The point is that, since God is fallible, God is human – or contains humanity in him. Therefore, we can be just like God: we can create our own values, our own worlds, but we still are fallible.

The rabble says I am wrong and using circular logic, employing fallacies. I admit that that’s true. But I think of the benefit, and it is justified. And I am the shepherd that is going to lead his flock toward greener pastures. Does it matter what I say to make them move, as long as it gets them to move?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 7:55 am

    I have to agree. I think that which we know as “God” is not something separate, or other.
    I love this: “But I think of the benefit, and it is justified.”
    Indeed.

  2. September 10, 2009 7:13 pm

    I see a dogmatic God or a higher intelligence or anything that you wish to call it as a fiction and just tries to make us humans feel inferior. No, I say. I say we assert our divinity.

    I wrote this all stream-of-consciousness style and didn’t think much of it at the time. But now I think this is one of the better things I have written!

Leave a Reply

