Skip to content

Revamping Reality, Part 3: Restructuring Goals

October 19, 2009

Since I recreated my reality and gave myself a sense of purpose, I decided to endow myself with goals. These goals are pretty much the same as they were in Operation Hamilton, except I’m giving myself the flexibility to change my goals from week to week (add or subtract weekly goals, or change the quantity of a given goal). That way, I can truly assess my growth and stay fluid and flexible – I can modify my goals system using just about whatever I want.

How I have my goals broken down is this:

Daily Goals, which are grouped into two sides, health and discipline.

Health includes getting adequate sleep (if possible), drinking 5.5 L of water, stretching out my back, exercising 6 days per week, and eating 3 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil. Discipline includes finishing my homework, writing out my Code every morning, doing my chore to fund my trip to Europe, and limiting time wasted on the Internet and TV.

Weekly goals, at this time, include:

“Reality Checks”, where I remind myself to mold my reality according to the Facts written in my previous post and to stay on my purpose. this is important in constructing my reality – soon, maintaining my reality will become effortless, but this period of conscious thought is needed to make it real in my mind.

Read a large number of pages in books, so I can broaden my horizons.

Stickhandle in my basement for hockey, so I can improve my skills.

Leave comments on others’ blogs and post here, to improve my writing skills and expand my network on the internet (and to gain some awesome insights through peoples’ posts!).

Limit my number of cheat foods to stay healthy. Treat my body like an engine; good stuff in, good performance out.

Make entries in my notebook, to make sure I’m always thinking about anything and creating ideas of my own.

Meditate for certain number of minutes each week to center myself allow myself to feel good all the time.

I track all my goals on a whiteboard I have hung on my wall. For each week, I have a symbol, so it is easy to keep track of all of them on my whiteboard. The whiteboard’s visibility reminds me to accomplish my goals, day in, and day out (or at least, it should, considering I installed it earlier today). I can already sense that the motivation to complete my goals is much stronger now that I’ve publicized them, in a way, on my wall. I highly recommend it.

Sorry for the short post – I’m in a rush. To complete my goals.

Godspeed,
The Prince

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 5:13 am

    I can see that you do have the discipline to materialize your goals. That’s good for you. Actually, I’m also doing mine; I also do a lot of reading to widen my horizon and I meditate a lot. Let’s keep this up ok? 🙂

    • October 25, 2009 1:45 pm

      Hey Walter,

      This week, I missed my goals by a lot, and realized that I’m missing some important ones that I’ll add this week. Luckily, my goal system is very flexible so this kind of change on the fly is doable, unlike in the past where it was very structured.

      Thanks for your comment!

  2. October 26, 2009 10:28 pm

    Hey Brett.

    This is a cool posting because it is like a work-in-progress type message, which is great. It means pro-activity is connected to it. The same person that quickly gets their goals out there is the same person who gets the goals worked on in an speedy manner.

    I like your message about “good stuff in, good performance out”. I wouldn’t have the energy I am able to work with if I was taking in garbage. I make sure to drink water often, and eat foods like fruits, bread, nuts, sandwiches, and cooked stuff like potatoes, onions, and carrots pretty regularly. Good habits are great because they work on auto-pilot, and you just get good results from them.

    Nice going on that whiteboard usage. At one time, I had a goal that I would keep a tally of with tallylines on a big green paper I taped on my wall, and I crushed that goal. You know what – I am going to do that exact same thing again with a new goal that it is suited for. Thanks for the reminder.

    Good stuff.

  3. October 28, 2009 11:43 pm

    What’s up Armen!

    Everything here is a work-in-progress, man. Everything. That’s me: I don’t want to be a self-help guru or anything, being as young as I am. I’m still growing, all the time. I get better. I change my mind about things. I evolve. I learn. I just apply my experience in posts here, so people may get some value from my experience.

    P.S. VIDEO POST tomorrow! I’d be lying if I said you didn’t inspire me to make one.

Leave a Reply

